CentOS

CentOS

CentOS (Community ENTerprise Operating System) is a Linux distribution based on and binary-compatible with the Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) distribution from Red Hat. The distribution is managed, maintained and developed by an open group of voluntary developers.

CentOS is one of the most popular Linux distributions for web servers.
The purpose of CentOS is to provide a fully RHEL binary-compatible Linux distribution. In addition, there is a fast response time in terms of providing updates and the possibility to purchase additional support for CentOS.
Red Hat provides all source packages for the RHEL distribution on the net, enabling the development of a binary-compatible Linux distribution to RHEL. RHEL can only be purchased in conjunction with support contracts, but through compatible alternatives such as CentOS, it is possible to install more computers with RHEL-compatible Linux distributions than RHEL licenses have been purchased.

In addition to the savings, there is the advantage that commercial Linux software certified for RHEL can also be used directly and without restrictions on the alternative distribution.

CentOS

CentOS

CentOS (Community ENTerprise Operating System) ist eine Linux-Distribution, die auf der Linux-Distribution Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) der Firma Red Hat aufbaut, und zu dieser binärkompatibel ist. Die Distribution wird von einer offenen Gruppe von freiwilligen Entwicklern betreut, gepflegt und weiterentwickelt.

CentOS gehört zu den verbreitetsten Linux-Distributionen für Web-Server.
Der Zweck von CentOS ist, eine vollständig RHEL-binärkompatible Linux-Distribution zur Verfügung zu stellen. Hinzu kommt eine angestrebte schnelle Reaktionszeit in Bezug auf das Bereitstellen von Updates und die Möglichkeit, zusätzlich Support zu CentOS zu erwerben.
Red Hat stellt alle Quellpakete für die RHEL-Distribution im Netz bereit, und ermöglicht es so, auf dieser Basis eine zu RHEL binärkompatbile Linux-Distribution zu entwickeln. RHEL kann nur im Zusammenhang mit Supportverträgen erworben werden, durch kompatible Alternativen wie CentOS besteht aber die Möglichkeit, mehr Computer mit RHEL-kompatiblen Linux-Distributionen zu bespielen, als RHEL-Lizenzen erworben wurden.

Neben den Ersparnissen ergibt sich der Vorteil, dass kommerzielle Linux-Software, die für RHEL zertifiziert wurde, auch direkt und ohne Einschränkungen auf der alternativen Distribution genutzt werden kann.